I wish I’d said that

(If I knew how to make this a subtitle for this post, it would say)
This pretty much describes the inside of my head and my attempts to communicate to the rest of the world:

“What goes on inside is just too fast and huge and all interconnected for words to do more than barely sketch the outlines of at most one tiny little part of it at any given instant.”

 [From “Good Old Neon,” a story from 2001 quoted in ‘The Unfinished David Foster Wallace’s struggle to surpass “Infinite Jest.”’by D. T. Max March 9, 2009  New Yorker Magazine March 9, 2009]

 Reading Infinite Jest, and anything else I can get my hands on by DFW  has altered my beliefs about what good writing is. It gives me permission to expand my abilities – permission you may suffer from, as I experiment from here on!

Leave a Reply

